Laughter, flowers, and photos

“Photography is the only language that can be understood anywhere in the world.”

The other day, a role model of mine said something that really made me stop and think. We were talking about pictures, one of my favorite things, and she said to me “you see things in such a beautiful way. You take pictures that capture the heart of what is going on, not just the actions.”

I’ve always loved pictures. Maybe it was growing up with a mother who was a consultant for a scrapbooking company (I literally have dozens of books of my face), or maybe it all goes back to that big red, yellow, and blue little-kid camera I got in preschool. And while photography isn’t my career path, photography will always be something I love and something I’m passionate about.

I believe photography is so incredible because it captures a perfect, simple, priceless moment and freezes it in time. My favorite moments in my life are the small ones that are easy to miss, and so it is truly beautiful when those small moments are captured by camera and made to last forever. With photography, it gives you the opportunity to look at something from a different view, from a different perspective, and allows you to see the person, the place, whatever is photographed, in the rawest, truest way possible. It is as if in photos, people’s guards go down, and the world’s full beauty comes out. My absolute favorite thing to take pictures of is laughter. I believe people are the prettiest when they are laughing, as they are genuinely happy and genuinely themselves. When a laugh is captured on camera, it is as if you can feel the joy of the moment just by looking at the picture.

So, I would like to introduce: emily lauren photography. No, I’m not starting a photography business. Yes, I am taking some of my favorite pictures of mine and sharing them with you. You see, I take pictures for one simple reason: joy. It brings me joy to capture them, there is joy within them, and then maybe, possibly, I can bring joy to others by sharing them with you.  You’ll find on my site pictures I’ve taken, from castles in Spain to flowers in Portugal, from the beautiful people in my life to the wilderness out west.

They say photography helps people see, and that is my goal. I hope that by looking at each picture, you see more than the image in front of you. I hope when you look at a person, you don’t just see their eyes, you see the happiness and laughter in their life and their dreams and goals. I hope when you look at a mountain, you don’t just see the soil, you see each and every path that has been shaped over the years into the landscape.

“I wish more people felt that photography was an adventure the same as life itself and felt that their individual feelings were worth expressing. To me, that makes photography more exciting.”

Oh, and shoutout to anyone and everyone who has ever let me raid their personal space with a camera (especially if you’re on my site). I do it because I love you and because I think you’re beautiful and because you radiate joy.

| emilylaurenphotos.wordpress.com |

Would you like to leave a comment?

