You’re never too far gone to come Home

Happy Easter, errybody. Yesterday night, I took the trek to come home for this one day, because there is nowhere I would rather be on Easter Sunday than at my church, with my family.

Lately, whenever my life has felt difficult or hard, this is where I’ve wanted to be. My parents, my brother, my sister, they bring me a sense of never-ending security, a reminder of the blessings in my life. I’ve missed them, I’ve missed my church, a place that I’m so beyond lucky to call home.

Today, the message at church really hit home with me. It focused on the idea that “God specializes in new beginnings,” that no matter what, how matter how defeated you feel, He can lift you back up. He can set us free from the pain of the past and the pressures of today, to the freedom of the future, where, with Him by my side, I can accomplish amazing things.

Sometimes, I get caught up in all the mistakes that I’ve made, all the faults that I feel are at my feet. I can only think about what I’ve ruined, and not the beauty that has been created around me. I lose hope, and I wonder if it’s worth it to find it again. But the truth is, it doesn’t really matter where I’ve been, what has happened in the past. The important part, the essential part is what direction I am heading in today. I pretty much have two options: to keep screwing up on my own, or to let God walk beside me and let Him steer me right when I mess up again.

“The LORD is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.” Psalm 34:18

He is going to be there, ready to pick me up and save me. Sometimes I find myself walking away, wanting, trying, to fix this on my own. The reality is I’m never going to be able to. In order for me to gain the strength I need to take on everything that is thrown my way, I need to rely on Him to help me. I need to let God be God, and let Him do what He is here to do. He offers me strength and stability, and I need to have faith and accept this gift that I will never be able to repay.

During prayer requests, someone said “you’re never too far gone to come home.” No matter how long it takes you to realize that God is home, you can still come home to Him. Because no matter what happens, no matter how many wrong turns you take, you’re never too far gone to come Home.

Would you like to leave a comment?

