What is my testimony?

Today I had a conversation about Jesus and about testimonies. Whenever people ask me to tell my testimony, I tell one of my favorite stories from the Dominican 4 years ago with a little girl on a rooftop. While that instance changed my life in many ways, I don’t really know what makes that my “testimony.” I was always taught that your testimony was a summary of how you came into your faith, that it was a turning point, what turned you straight to Him. But I don’t 100% agree with that.

My faith is a journey, a road made of many twists and turns, which I continue to grow and develop on. While my road leads to Him, there wasn’t an exact moment I got on this road. This road began the day I was born, as every little thing that has happened in my life leads back to my faith. I was blessed to be born into a Christian family, so I have known Him all my life; however, my faith became MY faith later on.

I can’t give you the exact time and date where I 100% built my own relationship with Him because I don’t really know. Maybe it was in middle school, when I wrote my first testimony. Maybe it was in 2008, when I fell in love with the idea of leaving a legacy on this world. Maybe it was when I traveled with Voices of Youth for this first time and realized I wanted to do full time mission work at some point in my life. Maybe it was when I stood on stage for the last time and felt His presence in the spotlight. Maybe it was in 2012, when a friend of mine told me that I played a key role in her building a relationship with Jesus. Maybe it was in the fall of my junior year of college, when I laid in the grass looking at the stars with one of the most important people to me and fell in love with the Big Man more than I ever expected to. The truth is, there are so many factors that have made me into the Christian and the person I am today and I could write a testimony about each of these instances.

I may not have one specific moment in time that I can say led me to Jesus, but I think this is a blessing in disguise. I am so lucky to be surrounded by so many people and so many opportunities for love and mission and Jesus that my life continues to be changed each and every day.

So, what is my testimony, you ask? Life is. My life, filled with many struggles but a lot of joy, is my testimony. I try to live each day for Him and hopefully, for someone, I show them the love of Jesus.

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Emily, this is beautiful and so are you.
    Beautifully written too, but that is just frosting on the cake. And the piece that helps His beauty to reach the rest of us. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

Would you like to leave a comment?

