What are you passionate about?

Last month, I got nominated for 2 citizen leader awards here at school. I had to fill out a “student information sheet” which had a multitude of questions about my time here at Longwood, and about me in general. While most of the questions seemed hard to answer, one of them I fell in love with. It was “What are you passionate about?”

PASSION. I wanted to squeal out of happiness. Passion is one of my favorite things in this world. I think that you can teach many things, but you can’t instill passion within someone. Everyone’s passion is different, and their passion is where they truly shine.

So, what am I passionate about? As you may already know, my favorite world in the entire world is “joy.” I am extremely passionate about life and the simple joys that each and every day brings. I love making memories and experiencing all of life’s adventures. I believe there is a certain beauty to the small moments, and we should all try to find joy in the little things. There is always joy to be found, especially within your own passion. My strongest passion is other people’s passions. I am the most happy when I’m with others and they are immersed in their passion. I am very passionate about people and always supporting and encouraging them. There is no place I would rather be than with my best friend when she is surrounded by flowers, my dad at a history museum, or my brother as he is making music.

The other day I got a text that said “your life in a quote” and this is what followed:

“I fall in love with people’s passion, the way their eyes light up when they talk about the thing they love and the way they fill with light.”

There is truly NOTHING more beautiful than a person who is talking about or doing what they are most passionate about. Next time you’re talking to someone about what they love, watch their facial expressions. Their eyes light up, they cannot stop smiling, and they are literally pouring out happiness. They cannot contain their love and pure enchantment with whatever they are talking about, and it makes you fall in love with it too.

Anyone can recite facts, take notes, or compute numbers. But you cannot give your all to something that you don’t have a deep passion for. You may not be the most organized person, or you may not have hours of free time on your hands, but if you have passion for what you’re doing, none of that on-the-surface stuff matters. When you’re passionate about something, you never stop growing because of it. You are constantly filled, and in turn, you fill others up. You strive to learn more, to do more, and to be more because of it.

So, maybe you don’t know what you’re passionate about. That is perfectly okay. Sometimes, it just comes to us. Other times, it can take years and years to find out. But once you find your passion, you will know. Because nothing will seem more incredible that that.

Would you like to leave a comment?

