You’re an Overcomer

In case this wasn’t obvious, I’ve been in Spain for 2 weeks! I’ve been having the time of my life, that is for sure! But I’ve also been stressing myself out.

As I might have previously mentioned, my host mom has been forcing us to eat a lot of food. Don’t get me wrong, I love her, but I can’t do this anymore. I’ve only been here for 14 days and I can already tell by looking at myself that I’ve gained weight. About a year and a half ago, I lost about 30 pounds, give or take a few. Ever since then, I’ve done a really good job keeping it off, but I’ve also become hypersensitive to my weight, every little pound. This past semester I constantly struggled with this, worrying about weight gain when I really didn’t need to be, but right before I came on this trip, I was in a really good place. I was feeling confident about myself again, and I was happy where I was. Now I’m not. I love it here in Spain, that’s for sure, and I’m not afraid to buy helado every other day or try new things (heck, I’ve tried seafood here, and everyone who knows me knows I do not eat seafood), but I can no longer be forced to eat food that I don’t enjoy and then feel worse and worse about myself as I watch myself gain weight.

Today, my roommate and I went on a run. We are both feeling really motivated and ready to get back into shape. As we begin our run, guess what happens? IT RAINS. Now, if you know anything about Valencia, you know it really doesn’t rain. But when it does rain, it pours. And it does so for about 15 minutes, and then it’s bright and sunny and you never would have guessed that just happened. So, of course, right as we take our first running step, the clouds let loose and the water falls. Did that make us stop? NO! In fact, I’ve never run in the rain before and that was absolutely way too much fun. As I was running and thinking about my current food dilemma, “Overcomer” by Mandisa began playing on my ipod. If you’ve never listened to it, go listen to it. I’ll even attach a little youtube link here to make it harder for you to avoid my nagging: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z29olPjFbqg

It was one of those moments. You’re running through pouring rain, you’re drenched, the sun is beginning to shine again, and an incredibly inspirational song begins blasting into your ears. How can you not smile?

I know that no matter what happens with this, that God is on my side and that everything will be okay. Yes, I do not want to gain 20 million pounds. Yes, I do not like being force fed food. But in the end of it, as long as I’m having an amazing time here in Spain, what else matters?

So I’ll leave you with this:

“You’re an overcomer, stay in the fight ’til the final round. You’re not going under, ’cause God is holding you right now. You might be down for a moment, feeling like it’s hopeless, that’s when He reminds you, that you’re an overcomer.”

 

*Sidenote: thank you for letting me hardcore express my emotions to you in this post, and thank you for dealing with my wordiness. I wrote this and posted this quickly, because I wanted it to be shared and didn’t want to chicken out. Thank you for supporting me on this amazing trip of mine, I cannot wait to see what the next 2 ½ weeks have in store for me!

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Emily, I am so glad you trusted God, and all of us who love you, to post this! Thank you! You have an amazing heart and soul. God knows it, and you bravely showed it to all of us too. Blessings to you for the rest of your trip. We will all love however many pounds of you returns to the United States, and I’m confident that you will move forward from that point, in a healthy, positive way. Love, Aunt Karen

    Like

  2. Emily, I’m so proud of you! Enjoy all of your new experiences! I’m thinking of you and wishing you the best with your host mom, seafood, and running!

    Like

Would you like to leave a comment?

