T.G.I.VIERNES

This evening, we decided we would have our first meal out in Valencia, just my roommate and I. It was just her, me, and our very small Spanish vocabulary. But first, we wandered the streets, going into little shops that we thought were fun! We discovered the beauty that is Spanish supermarkets, and bought some chocolate and granola bars for snacks at work. I only spent 1,69 € in total (which is close to 2 American dollars)! We then ended up in a huge bookstore, where we scavenged until we found the 2 shelves of English books out of the thousands that were in there. After this, we finally set out on our original journey: to eat out “on the street” (as my host mom would say). We randomly selected a restaurant, and luckily, our waiter knew some English. We both ordered the most delicious sandwiches I’ve ever tasted, along with “Agua de Valencia” a drink that is famous in Valencia, as it has Valencian oranges in it. Everything we had there was good! Even the potato chips were good, not oily and processed at all like the ones at home. Once we left, we decided we would go get some helado, because…well, who needs a reason to buy helado? (I know I don’t!) On our way there, we passed those street vendors in the plaza, selling purses and sunglasses. I’ve always ignored them whenever I’ve seen vendors like that, but after the lesson my brother gave me on how to get them to lower prices, I decided to give it a go! I ended up buying a SUPER CUTE bag and I negotiated the price down! IN SPANISH. shall I repeat that? I negotiated with a street vendor IN SPANISH LIKE AM I FABULOUS OR WHAT?! Eternally my favorite part of the night. The fact that I actually like the bag is icing on top of this once-in-a-lifetime moment that happened while I was in a FOREIGN COUNTRY. Oh, and don’t worry, I didn’t forget to get my helado! We have officially found our favorite helado place, a definite staple when you’re in Spain!

20140523-234825.jpg

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I’m trying to figure out what the picture is at the top of this!

    Like

Would you like to leave a comment?

